Mary Sánchez Lanier

Mary Sánchez Lanier

Professor Washington State University  

Dr. Sánchez Lanier is committed to WSU’s land grant mission and has received international, regional, and WSU awards for her teaching, advising, and leadership. She has been particularly active in the mentoring and support of undergraduate and graduate students from underrepresented groups as well as women and minority faculty. She was a co-principal investigator on an NSF Advance grant which supported Women in STEM fields and has held a number of grants in support of underrepresented students in STEM. At the national level she has led the education programs for the American Society for Microbiology, served as a steering committee member for the Annual Biomedical Research Conference for Minority Students, and reviewed for numerous national programs. As assistant vice provost she oversees the Office of Undergraduate Research, the Distinguished Scholarships Program, Research Scholars, LSAMP, and First Year Programs. In the classroom she enjoys teaching virology.


  • PhD, Medical Science, University of New Mexico,1986
  • BS, University of New Mexico,1979

Professional Service

  • Chair, Education Committee, American Society for Microbiology 2015 – 2021
  • Council on Microbial Sciences, American Society for Microbiology 2017 – 2021
  • Council Policy Committee, American Society for Microbiology 2015 – 2021
  • Advisory Board, School of Medical Lab Science, Sacred Heart, Spokane, WA 2015 – present
  • Board of Directors, Barry Goldwater Educational Support Fund 2015 – present
  • Steering Committee, Annual Biomedical Research Conference for Minority Students,2007 – present
  • Chair, Committee on Minority Education, American Society for Microbiology 2007 – 2015
  • Steering Committee, American Academy of Microbiology colloquium “Putting the Ph” back into the Ph.D. The role of professional societies in graduate training” 2017
  • WSU Provost’s Advisory Committee on Tenure and Promotion 2018 – 2021
  • Chair, WSU Academic Showcase Committee 2004 – present
  • Faculty WSU Athletics Council 2011 – 2014
  • Chair, WSU Institutional Biosafety Committee 1998 – 2003

Honors and Awards