Our encompassing goal is to improve public health and catalyze human opportunity through research, teaching, and outreach. To achieve this goal, it requires committed individuals. In October, we celebrated professor Kariuki Njenga who was elected to the National Academy of Medicine. It is described as “one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.” Read more at go.wsu.edu/Njenga. This richly deserved recognition adds to the national and international reputation of the Allen School faculty. All of WSU’s National Academy of Medicine members are Allen School faculty, six are fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and six are members of the Washington State Academy of Science, including professors Doug Call and Jon Yoder who were elected earlier this year. Election to these bodies reflects not only the highest levels of scholarship, but also a commitment to serving society through science. As impressive as these achievements are, they are in many ways only the “tip of the iceberg.” The Allen School has an outstanding group of young faculty, already widely recognized among their peers for their accomplishments, who will undoubtedly emerge as the next generation of nationally and internationally recognized fellows and academy members. I look forward to seeing how they help meet our goals to improve health and opportunity for everyone, everywhere.

Guy Palmer
Creighton Endowed Chair and
WSU Senior Director of Global Health