New Allen School graduate students (left-right) Amos Peterson, Sylvia Omulo, Jessica Klein, Deo Mshanga and Craigen Nes (not pictured Geoffrey Grzesiak and Reiko Weigel)


The Allen School welcomed seven new graduate students and fellow for the fall semester: Geoffrey Grzesiak, Jessica Klein, Deogratius “Deo” Mshanga, Craigen Nes, Sylvia Omulo, Amos Peterson, and Reiko Weigel. Deo, based in Tanzania, and Sylvia, based in Kenya, are active collaborators the East Africa Program.

Allison Eavey James, a post-doctoral fellows in the Allen School, has been appointed to the Trainee Advisory Committee of the Consortium of Universities in Global Health. Her role will be to advise the board on how best to engage future leaders in global health across the health disciplines and to structure the annual meeting.

George Wudiri, Jackie Stone and Petronella Hove were awarded first, second and third place, respectively, for their poster presentations at the college’s 2013 Student Research Symposium.

Bryce Henderson, a junior biochemistry/microbiology major, was one of 25 undergraduates to be awarded an undergraduate research scholarship. Henderson, an Honors College student mentored by Hector Aguilar-Carreño, will research the interactions between two viral glycoproteins that are responsible for fusion and entry of a virus into the host cell, specifically paramyxovirus, such as influenza and Nipah virus.